The Pain & Heartache of Love


The Pain and Heartache of Love – February 27, 2015
True Love
Brad Clarke


Have you ever been so hurt by someone so deeply and so bad, that you could feel the pain physically?  Most of us have been hurt by someone we loved at some point in our lives.  But the question I have for you tonight is how do you respond to that hurt?

I, like you, have been hurt in just about every relationship I have ever had.  Some of those have actually crushed me to the very core of who I am.  Sometimes I have responded well and moved on, but others, well let’s just say it took a big bandaid to patch up the wound.  
You see, life is full of pain and sorrows, mixed in with joy and happiness.  It is how we respond during those hard times.  Sometimes we feel all alone, like no body cares.  So in our human nature, we retreat back to our old lifestyles and we turn to drinking, drugs, sex, or other things to fill the gapping hole, void if you will, left behind from what has happened with that person. But what if pain was created to teach us or help us?  What if the heartache and depression was meant for far more than our emotional state.  What if it was to help us understand what “True Love” really is like?
You see, when we go through these deep dark moments of our life, we often look inward to see what we did wrong.  Or perhaps we listen to the little lies on our shoulder, saying I told you so, you will never be worthy of “True Love”!  But tonight I want to look at this topic from a completely different angle.  
Must of us like to think that no one understands the pain and suffering we are going through, but there is one who knows exactly how it feels, yet keeps loving anyway, despite the daily rejection from the other side of the relationship.  The person I am referring to is God.  
You see, God understands all to well the pain of rejection.  He understands the pain of being lied too.  He understands the acts of unfaithfulness.  In fact, He understands any and all labels associated with pain, the destruction and impact one persons choices can have. God suffers each and everyday through this pain.  God so deeply loves us all, that He gave His One and Only Son, Jesus Christ, to DIE for us and take our place on that cross.  Yet each and everyday, we reject Him, break-up with Him, blame Him, and curse at Him.  God weeps at the thought of us all not being with Him for eternity or right now for that matter.  That is why He sent Jesus to conquer Hell for us, because He knew we would never be able to.  God knows what you are going through, better than anyone on this earth.  But “True Love”, from God’s eye’s and from the worlds eyes are two totally different things.  You say, “True Love”?  What in the world does that have to do with me being hurt right now?  Answer… Everything!  
“True Love”, by the world’s standard says, “you have hurt me by ___________________ (fill in your own blank) and must of us carry that pain with us for what seems like forever and maybe some of us actually do.  But God says, you have hurt me and continue to hurt me, but I love you the same today as the day I created you!  I tell you that I love you, but you mock me with a double lifestyle.  I show you I love you, but you turn or push it away from yourself.  I offer you forgiveness, but you tell me your are not worthy of my free gift!  
You see ___________________ (place your name in the blank), I loved you enough and still love you enough to send my Son Jesus Christ to take your place in Hell for eternity!  He Conquered it and Rose again, just as My Word said He would.  And I did it all for you, because I love you!  I also loved you enough to count you as my most prized creation out of everything in existence.  I love you enough to know how many strands of hair you have.  And I love you enough to give you the free gift of salvation and eternity with me in Heaven, through My Sons blameless death on the cross for my namesake and my perfect will for your life.
You see, God’s take on love is this:
Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. Prophecy and speaking in unknown languages and special knowledge will become useless. But love will last forever! 
1 Corinthians 13:4-8
My dear child, I know your pain and your heartache.  But know this, I promise to you, as I promise all who are in me, I can and will turn your pain into something more beautiful than anything you can possibly imagine, but only if you let me. (Ref. Romans 8:28)  I also promise, that I know the plans I have for you, plans not tom harm you, but plans for your to prosper! (Ref. Jeremiah 29:11) My love for you is made perfect through my Son Jesus Christ!
You see God’s view of “True Love” is not based on who you are, but on who’s you are! And as stated above, no one understands your pain and heartache more than Him. He gives us the exact meaning of “True Love” and how it should be. It is by His Word and by His standard that we should judge how we are to love and how we are to be loved! Anything less, well… Is not “True Love”
In Closing:
If you are hurting or perhaps heartbroken tonight, rest assured you are not alone. And rest your brokenness in His Hands and allow Him to bring something more beautiful out of it, even more than you could possibly imagine. God ALWAYS KEEPS HIS PROMISES! 
About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Faith, Following God, Forgiveness, God, God's Will, Guarding Our Hearts, Jesus, Love, Marriage, Pain, Sorrow, The Great I AM, The Love of Christ, Truth, Weblogs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

