The Endless Darkness


Some of us, in fact many of us, have at some point experienced valleys in our walk with the Lord.  Valleys that are filled with what seems like endless darkness and with little rays of hope.  My prayer for this post is to prove to you that in that endless darkness you are in, that there is a Light shining on you, guiding you along, even though you may not see it.

  • Even if I walk through a very dark valley, I will not be afraid, because you are with me. Your rod and your shepherd’s staff comfort me.

I have shared with you in many of my past post my failures, the pain in my life, as well as my victories with the Lord.  One of those victories came in one of my darkest days.

I was homeless, no job, 3 shirts and one pair of pants.  I didn’t know if I was going to be able to eat or not.  I was all alone in the darkest place a man can walk.  I could not pray, because I felt God surely had left me and given up on me because of MY CHOICES.  I felt so far away from God, yet was He still near?  No, is the word that kept coming to mind each time I would began to pray.  God doesn’t love you, nobody loves you!  These words rang loud and clear in my head each and everyday.  Where is your God now? See I told you, Gods love is conditional!  You can’t do it, you are what you are… a failure!  All lies that I bought into, straight from the pits of Hell!

One day a friend of mine, a christian friend, came by.  He came and said, “come with me.”  He took me out to lunch and talked to me.  I was honest with him and shared with him what I was doing and what I was feeling.  It was one of the hardest, most embarrassing conversations I have ever had.  However, through that conversation, came a ray of hope through one simple prayer we prayed. In that moment, I prayed for God to forgive me and make me new again.  To restore me, my faith and my walk with Him. At that moment, while I was still in the midst of my valley, God met me there and I felt Him for the first time in a very long time. His was right there!

You see, despite my choices, despite my rebellion, despite me feeling light years away from God, He was still there with me.  He was walking along side me through the darkest valley my life had ever seen.  He was simply waiting on me, waiting on me to turn to Him.  You see, in these moments of our lives that we feel so distant from God, is actually when God is the closest.  He is longing to help us and guide us out of that endless darkness we are in.  However, while He pursues us, He does not force His love, mercy and grace upon us.  It is a choice WE must make.  As believers, God’s Truth is in us the moment we accept Christ as our Lord and Savior.  He pours His Holy Spirit into us to make us a New Creation.  However, when we turn from that Holiness, even for an instant, we are opening the door for darkness to creep back in.  And that is exactly what happened to me.

I was trying to fill the void of my brokenness with everything but God.  I was turning towards every worldly treasure I could get my hands on and in those moments, my world became a very, very dark, lonely world.  I had turned away from God without even truly realizing it.  There is an old saying that goes like this, “if you throw a frog into boiling water, it immediately jumps out because it is hot! But if you put a frog into normal water and slowly turn up the heat, it will sit there until it dies!”  The same holds true for us!  We must constantly be on guard in our spiritual walks with the Lord.  The enemy is looking for ANY WAY POSSIBLE to destroy not only you, but your entire family.  If you are saved by the grace of God, then he can not touch your eternal salvation, but he can (and will) destroy your witness, your family and everything you hold near and dear to your heart.

This post is meant for someone, I don’t know who, but I pray that if you are reading this and this is where you are in life right now, please hear these words!  GOD IS WAITING ON YOU… HE LOVES YOU MORE THAN YOU CAN EVER IMAGINE… DON’T LISTEN TO THE LIES ANYMORE… STOP RIGHT NOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING, TURN AROUND, REPENT AND HE WILL BE WAITING FOR YOU RIGHT THERE!  If you think you can control what it is you are going through, you have just bought into another lie from the on who longs to destroy you! Jesus even illustrates this for us in Luke 15:11-32.

God Found me in my Endless Darkness and proved to me His Unfailing Love, He WILL do the same for you!

Prayer:  Father, I don’t even how I got here.  I am asking for you to forgive me, restore me and draw me close to you once again.  Lord, I can’t do this on my own… I need your help!  Redeem me oh Lord!  Amen!

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Armor of God, Desires, Faith, Following God, Forgiveness, Free Will, God's Will, Grace, Guarding Our Hearts, Jesus, Lies of the Enemy, Life, Love, Pain, Shame, Sorrow, Spiritual Growth, The Enemy, The Love of Christ, Trials, Truth, Uncategorized, Weblogs, Words and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Endless Darkness

  1. mlreviews says:

    Wonderful story, I think many people can benefit from this, thank you.

Leave a Reply

