Give Freely


Giving Breeds Love

I had some free time at work and decided to read God’s Word.  This Scripture was the verse of the day and really encouraged me and I pray that if you read this, it does the same for you.

Deuteronomy 15:7-11

When you happen on someone who’s in trouble or needs help among your people with whom you live in this land that God, your God, is giving you, don’t look the other way pretending you don’t see him. Don’t keep a tight grip on your purse.  No. Look at him, open your purse, lend whatever and as much as he needs.  Don’t count the cost. Don’t listen to that selfish voice saying, “It’s almost the seventh year, the year of All-Debts-Are-Canceled,” and turn aside and leave your needy neighbor in the lurch, refusing to help him. He’ll call God’s attention to you and your blatant sin.

Give freely and spontaneously. Don’t have a stingy heart. The way you handle matters like this triggers God, your God’s, blessing in everything you do, all your work and ventures. There are always going to be poor and needy people among you. So I command you: Always be generous, open purse and hands, give to your neighbors in trouble, your poor and hurting neighbors.

Reflection:

When we know that someone is need or asks us for help, how are we as Christians to react?  Do we say let me pray about it?  Do we lie and say I just don’t have it right now to give?  Do we just turn away and ignore them?  Do we tell them, I can’t help you right now, but I know someone who can?  Let me tell you this first, I have done all of the above.  In fact, I have done it so many times I can’t count.  Before I laid myself before God and asked Him to search me and try me.  Before I asked Him to make me more like His Son and less like Brad.  Before I quit making excuse after excuse. I had a heart of stone and only worried about Brad and how Brad was going to make it.  It was after all the above took place that God changed my heart and broke my heart for those who were hurting.  This vision of helping people in need came to me about 2 years ago.  And God has laid the path for this moment in time for me to not only help those in need, but also raise awareness for the Body of Christ… to be a voice.

Closing:

Let us stop making excuses and start making a difference.  When we give, we receive.  It may not be a monetary gift back to us, but your gift in Heaven will far out weigh anything you can imagine.  Give freely my brothers and sisters. Give with the joy of the Lord and know you are being Jesus to that person.  We often times hold on to these things that are not ours to hold on too.  God has blessed us to bless others and to spread the Gospel and the Love of Christ to all nations.  It is right there in His Word.

God changed my heart.  See what God does when you open your heart to Him , you can give right now and literally help save lives in Kenya through our foundation.  Choose to make a difference today, click the link below to find out more.

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Body of Christ, Callings, Church, Desires, Dreams, Faith, Following God, Free Will, Friends, Friendships, Giving, Giving Freely, God, God's Will, Grace, Jesus, Kenya, Kids, Life, Love, Revival, Spiritual Growth, The Great I AM, The Love of Christ, Truth, Uncategorized, Walls, Weblogs, Words and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

