Contentment


I rejoice greatly in the Lord that at last you have renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you have been concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength. ~  Philippians 4: 10-13

During my various trials of late, I learned and I am still learning to hold fast and be content in my circumstances.  While I pray everyday for the Lord to deliver me, I can rest in knowing that He knows my deepest needs.  I sometimes confuse my wants with what my true needs are.  And if I am being honest with myself, He has always provided for my every need.  For even in my darkest trials, while He might not seem to deliver me as I pray for Him to,  but I can rest on the promise, that He will teach me out of the trial I am in and never leave my side.  So I should instead pray and ask for the strength of the Lord to carry me through what I am going through and to teach me what it is I need to learn and seek Him, even in the darkest times.  For the Lord, knows what is best for me, even though I might think I know better.  For as Paul says, I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.  For while I am a man who is bound by time, I serve a God who’s time is boundless. So I should remember what my main purpose is, and that is to bring Him honor and glory in all I do, even in the darkest of trials.

You see true contentment, does not mean we become lazy.  However, it does mean that we must learn to trust in God no matter what our circumstances are.  If you are like me, you like to control every aspect of your life.  I have learn, the hard way, that my ways are not like His.  In fact, they are not even close.  While we see today and hope for tomorrow, God sees everything, the whole entire picture.  We can plan, hope, dream or strive for our desires all we want, but if they are not in His plan, then we often times fill frustrated or even mad.  When we truly learn contentment, we learn to trust in God’s plan and not our own.

Challenge:  Trust in God and His plans and His timing.  God knows all.  He knows the plans He has for us, including what will come out of the trial we are in.  His promises are true, He know the plans He has for you, plans not to harm you, but plans for you to prosper (Jeremiah 29:11)  Take Him at His word and rest in the fact that nothing touches you without first going through the Father.

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Desires, Dreams, Faith, Following God, God's Will, Jesus, Life, Trials, Truth, Uncategorized, Weblogs, Words and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Contentment

  1. Jazzy says:

    I commit myself and those i have with into your safekeeping, dear Father. Permit no evil to ruin our faith, no testing to damage our obedience, no unbelief to diminish our love, no anxieties to weaken our hope. ..now keep us eternity. Amen.

Leave a comment