“My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?”


And at the ninth hour, Jesus cried out in a loud voice, “Eloi, Eloi, lama savachthani? – which means, “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?

On the day we call Good Friday, Jesus was hung on a criminal’s cross.  Before the day was over, Jesus cried out, “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?”  And with that, he breathed his last breath and died.  Why did Jesus die?

Well, first He died because the religious leaders of His day felt Jesus was a threat to their authority.  They simply wanted to get rid of Him.  The real reason Jesus died, was to pay the price for ALL our sins.  God had a plan and even though Jesus knew what the plan was, it was still very painful and very lonely.

Sometimes we are in the same boat.  We know what God is calling us to do, but all we hear is negative responses and backlash when we try to share our vision of God’s plans for us.  And while we are not dying naked on a cross, it is still very painful and lonely.  Hold fast to what God has shown you and for His perfect plan for you.  And rest in the fact that the resistance you are against is Satan, because he, like the religious leaders, is threatened by you and knows also what God intends.

Just keep this in the back of your mind… Jesus could have stopped, like the leaders wanted him to and could have lived out the rest of his life normal and would have been forgiven by God for not fulfilling His will, but in the end he chose to stick with it, even though He was to be beaten, embarrassed and hung on a cross naked to die for you and me.

I close this by saying, Jesus cried out, not because he had to, but because he could.  He had a personal relationship with His Father and was not afraid to be honest with Him.  Although He felt alone at the time, ultimately, He knew His Father was right there with Him.  The same goes for us, although at times we feel alone, and like the “Religious Leaders” of our lives who are against us, know this above all else, your Father loves you and He is right there with you and will give you the strength to carry out His plan for your life… just like He did for Jesus!

“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” So we say with confidence,

“The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.  What can man do to me?”   ~ Heb. 13:5-6

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Desires, Faith, Following God, God's Will, Jesus, Love, Uncategorized, Weblogs, Words. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?”

  1. Ronnie says:

    Thanks for the encouragement Brad. We need to stay strong and steadfast in our walk.

    Keep up the great work brother.

Leave a Reply

