Self Forgiveness – The Battle Within


Image Provide by Google Images

As Christians, we are often times quick to forgive others and ask for forgiveness from our Father, but forgiving ourselves, is all to often hard to do.

I have done many, many bad things in my lifetime.  As a Christian, many times I have fallen only to be picked up by the Grace of God.  However, that Grace that God showed me was very difficult to show myself.

As I have stated in many of my other post, the enemy likes nothing more than to hold us captive with lies and deceit.  He will replay events in our past in our minds, reminding us of how bad we have been and that there is no way anyone could forgive or love us.  However, Jesus tells us a different story.  His death on the cross, proves that forgiveness has been bought and paid for in full, past, present and future.  Satan lies to us to make us think that we are still captive and that we are still in bondage, but Jesus death, says that His Grace is sufficient.

By believing the lies that we hear over and over in our head, we are saying that Jesus’ death of the cross in not sufficient.  We are contradicting what our core beliefs are as Christians.  If we have ask for forgiveness from our Father, we are forgiven…. PERIOD! We must also ask for forgiveness if we have hurt someone in the action that we are asking forgiveness for.  Another words, if we do someone wrong, or hurt someone, not only do we need to ask for forgiveness for God, we must also humble ourselves and ask for forgiveness from that person.  If they choose not to forgive you for some reason, that becomes between them and God, you are off the hook.  You have done your part.

With all this being said, I have to say it is still not easy sometimes to forgive ourselves.  But we must.  Unforgiveness, even of ourselves, will do nothing but hinder your growth with Christ.  Why?  Because we are choosing to believe Satan’s lies and deceit over the Cross.  The Cross should be the key in all we do as Christians.  Whether we are witnessing or forgiving, loving or hurting, we must always look to the Cross and what Jesus did for us.  By comparing what we do with the Cross, we are certain to know what is Truth and what is lies.  Jesus’ death on the Cross is the very basis of our faith and the very key to your relationship with God.

So how do I just forgive myself and not listen to the lies of Satan, who replays them daily in my head?  Easy… When those thoughts arise, you PROCLAIM your victory in Jesus Christ and tell Satan that he has no hold on you, you have been bought and paid for by the Blood of Jesus Christ.  And you rebuke those lies and state that you have been forgiven.  You need to do this as often as those lies come up.  If you don’t, you are giving Satan the perfect opportunity to strike and make you believe you are bound by the chains of your past, and that is not TRUTH.  Many, many times I have had to do this with my past.  While I still face consequences for some of my actions, I am no longer bound by those chains.  And I still to this day, rebuke lies of the enemy.  He is very crafty and will use many things to keep you from your faith and from what God has for you.  Each and everyone of us has a purpose in this life.  God has called us all to do something for His Glory, but all to often we miss out on Glorifying Him because we are to busy listening the enemy.

Application: If you are still having problems forgiving yourself and you have ask for forgiveness, try this.  Take a piece of paper, write down what it is you need forgiveness for, then take a piece of wood, hammer and a nail, and nail it to that piece of wood.  What does this do?  It just simply symbolizes what Christ did for you on the Cross.  If you don’t have a piece of wood, take that paper with your offense written on it and burn it.

In Closing: You are free my dear brother or sister.  Free by the Blood of Jesus Christ.  His death was for a purpose and that purpose was to atone you from you transgressions and to set you free from the chains that held you captive.  Proclaim your Victory is Christ, and seek Gods Will for your life, Glorifying Him in all you do!

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Faith, Following God, Forgiveness, God's Will, Jesus, Lies of the Enemy, The Enemy, Truth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self Forgiveness – The Battle Within

  1. Nan Hart says:

    Thank you Brad, again you have come to my rescue. I battle with myself (and Satan) everyday over past deeds. I know I should forgive myself and move on, but it somehow doesn’t come. I think this post you have given me will finish my disbelief in myself once and for all. I will continue to read it over and over until it sinks in. God bless you and keep you always.
    Love,
    Nan

  2. Brad Clarke says:

    I am so glad that God has used this for His Glory. I would love to take the credit, but it is truly of Him! I am simply clay in the potters hand.

  3. Jazzy says:

    “Again, truly I tell you, if two of you agree on earth about anything you ask, it will be done for you bu my Father in heaven. For where two or three are gathered in my name, I am there among them.”–Matthew 18:19-20

Leave a Reply

