The Fork in the Road


Many times in my Christian walk, I have come to a place where I had to choose a direction to take, a fork in the road.  In this devotional, I hope to show you how easy or how hard it can be to find the Will of God in your life.

This is what the LORD says: “Stand at the crossroads and look; ask for the ancient paths, ask where the good way is, and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.  But you said, ‘We will not walk in it.’ ~ Jeremiah 6:16

Most of us have used a map in our lifetime.  We pull it out when we are lost or we want to make certain we know where we are going.  And if you are like me, you use your “sense of direction” to lead you.  Finding Gods Will for our lives is much the same.  For me, I have used my “sense of direction” far to often.  I have rarely pulled out the map that I know will lead me to my destination without getting lost.  Or when I have, I take a quick glance, then put it back.  My friends, that is a terrible way to live your life.  Take it from me, you have no clue where you are going.  Even if you think you do, don’t fool yourself, you don’t!  Traveling life’s highways can not only be very tricky, but often scary.  I have gotten myself so lost, I never thought I would find my way back, much less reach my destination.

You see, in life, we often times find ourselves going down the right road, only to be met by a fork in the road.  Right or left?  Rather than getting out our handy dandy map (Bible, prayer) we go it alone, and make a choice.  In my case, it has always been wrong… dead wrong.  I let my pride get in the way, thinking I know everything, only to find myself on a long dark road all alone with no where to get help.

Finding God’s Will, is very easy, yet very hard for us to see clearly.  We have to have guidance, and our maps ready at all times, because life, well it is full of forks in the road.  And if you choose based on what you think is the right way, it is often times not what God knows is the right way. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. ~ Jeremiah 29:13

You see, we all have a destination we are trying to reach and there are many tricky roads on this trip we call life, but having the right person giving us direction will surely make our travels much more enjoyable, not to mention less painful.  While you will still face obstacles and challenges, you know that there are always rest stops to take a relaxing break and stretch, gas stations to fill your tank up and places to eat making sure you are fed.  God’s way and His Will for your life are right next to you in the glove box… will you pull it out and make sure you are on the right path, or will you do like I did and get lost thinking you know the way? If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.  ~ James 1:5

Reflection: Taking the right path determines rather you are in Gods Will.  However, it is our choice to make.  Are you taking time to read your map, making sure you are ready for the next fork in your road?  Choosing the wrong direction, will leave you searching for your way back.  God’s way is always the right way, and will never get you lost.

Challenge: Stay in your Bible and in prayer.  Keep your map with you and ready to use the next time you face a fork in your road.

Prayer: Father, please forgive me for not trusting you and using your map you have given me.  Please Lord, help me to stay focused and in your word and prayer, so that I am always ready for the fork in the road.  Amen.

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does. ~ James 1:22-25
About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Callings, Faith, Following God, God's Will, Life, Religion, Religious, Temptation, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

