Are you Ready


Image by Google images

There was a very popular song in the 90’s by Garth Brooks, call “If tomorrow never comes”.  It got me to thinking and when that happens, it means those thoughts become words and words then become a challenge.

My question to you is, “If tomorrow never comes”, will you be ready?  Some of us think we are ready, but do we have that assurance of eternal life with our Lord and Savior?  Have we confessed with our mouths and believed in our hearts that Jesus Christ died on the cross for our sins, bridging the gap between Heaven and Hell?  Are we truly ready?

Not to be a downer, but how many of us know the day we are gonna die?  If you did happen to know, would you still accept Christ as your Lord and Savior, or would you wait to the day of your death to ask Him in your heart?

You might wonder where I am going with this?  Rest assured you are about to find out.

The Bible tells us on several occasions that we don’t know when the Lord will return,  or when our time will be up on this earth.  In Matthew 24: 36, it states “No one knows about that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father. In Matthew 24: 50, The master of that servant will come on a day when he does not expect him and at an hour he is not aware of. And in Matthew 25:13, “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour. Over and over we are told that we don’t know and yet we still think we have time.  I could leave my office after writing this and get into a wreck and die… that is simply a fact… or I could fall over from a heart attack while typing this, this is another fact, especially seeing how much McDonald’s I eat.  Or God could choose today to for the Return of the Lord Jesus Christ, as illustrated in the verses above.  Are you ready?

Many people I know, believe you can get to Heaven by being good enough, or by just being a good person… That is a lie from the very pits of Hell!  Satan wants you to believe that lie, so he can distract you from the TRUTH.  John 14:6 says, Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. No man has ever been good enough to stand in the presence of our God, except Jesus.  It is by His precious blood, that we are made clean.  We have been bought and paid for with the highest price, God’s one and only son, Jesus Christ.  John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

The simple fact is this, I don’t write this to condemn anyone… I don’t write this to make you feel bad… I do write this because at any moment your time here on earth could be done, and I don’t want anyone to spend eternity apart from God, much less in the very pits of Hell.  You might say that is a bit harsh… maybe, but it is Truth.  Or you might say, How can a God that is supposed to be all about love, let me spend eternity in Hell?  First, I would say this… He does love you!  And He doesn’t want you to spend eternity apart from Him.  He sent His son to die on a cross for your sins to proclaim that very thought. He also has given you the opportunity to choose life (Him), but all to often, people think they have more time, or they let their pride get in the way, or they flat out reject His love.  Do you know what makes a gift, a gift?  When the person we are giving it to accepts it or receives it.  Until that point, it is only a choice.  Much is the same with God’s calling for you… Right now, while you are reading this,  you are being presented a gift… The gift of eternal life by accepting Jesus Christ as you Lord and Savior.  Will you choose to accept that gift? Will you choose Him today?  Will you secure you eternity once and for all?  I invite you to listen to the Holy Spirit that is speaking to you right now… come, just as you are… all you have to do is pray this simple prayer below.. that is it.

Prayer of Salvation:

To all who are reading this and have not asked God to be your Lord and Savior, let me just say I know exactly what you are feeling.  The feelings will range from, complete emptiness, to bitterness and anger.  But rest assured that we have all been there.  I want to first start by saying that God loves you so much.  He counts you more special then the heavens and the earth.  He knows all your burdens, all your pain and all your sorrows.  He wants to help you, for the Bible tells us that, he has plans for you to prosper.  It also says that, he who is weary, cast your burdens to Him and He will make your burdens light.  And last but not least, He loves you so much that He sent His one and only Son Jesus to die on the cross for your every sin…. past, present and future.  ( 16″For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. ~ John 3:16) You might say, I have done way to much in my life for God ever to forgive me.  Well my friend, that is simply not the case.  The Bible tells us that sin is sin… there is no greater sin than the next.  There is only one sin that will separate you from God and eternal life and that is denying the Holy Spirit.  The Bible also states,  for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God ~ Romans 3:23.  That means you, me, and everyone, except Jesus.  No man has walked this earth and not sinned, no man except Jesus.  Sin has separated us from God from the very beginning with Adam and Eve.  That is why He sent His one and only Son Jesus to bare our sins on the cross.  With His blood, you have been bought and paid for in full.  He died for all mankind, but it is a gift of eternal life.  And as with any gift, you must first accept it in order for it to be received. So today I invite you to join our family, a family of believers, a family that we call the Body of Christ.  If you want and feel that the Lord is calling you, please join me in this prayer:

“Father, I know that Ihave broken your laws and my sins have separated me from you. I am truly sorry, and now I want to turn away from my past sinful life toward you. Please forgive me, and help me avoid sinning again.  I believe that your son, Jesus Christ died for my sins, was resurrected from the dead, is alive, and hears my prayer. I invite Jesus to become the Lord of my life, to rule and reign in my heart from this day forward.  Please send your Holy Spirit to help me obey You, and to do Your will for the rest of my life. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”

That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. ~ Romans 10:9-10

If you have prayed this prayer, I would love to hear from you so I can be praying for you.

If you didn’t, because you simply have more questions, I want to hear from you too… I will answer them the best I can and also be praying for you.

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Body of Christ, Callings, Church, Faith, Jesus, Religion, Religious, Temptation, Trials, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you Ready

  1. Jeff says:

    Man I’ve seen so many of these posts about the day the Lord returns. Something in the Holy Spirit is moving the believers to write this. Thank you for being another light post in this dark world.

    Jeff
    GODSurfer.com
    “If you have Articles, Blogs or Sites you want to share with other Christians,
    add them at http://www.GODSurfer.com/ – Where you can help to bring God Online!”

Leave a Reply

