My Walk with Jesus Vol.25 “Lost”


Todays takes us on a journey with a family traveling….

A family of 4 is on vacation.  They have been traveling for some time, when the Lisa (the wife) ask, Jim, do you know where we are going?  Jim quickly answers, yes dear, I do.  Another hour passes and Lisa says, we should have been there by now, please stop and ask someone for directions or get a map.  Jim sighs, fine… I will stop at the next gas station.  Another hour passes, and they are realizing that they are so lost, there is not a gas station or anything for that matter, around to ask for help.  Jim, what are we going to do, ask Lisa? They kids are fusing and fighting, we are all tired and hungry… we need help.  Suddenly they spot a fruit stand on the side of the road.  They quickly pull over, they all get out of the car.  Jim asks the man at the fruit stand, "Can you please help us get to Hillside?"  We are so lost.  The man answers, "Well my friend, you have passed the road that leads there, but it is just down they way."  Jim sighs, "Thank you".  Sir, the man says, "you won't be able to get to Hillside by car, the road is much to narrow and you will need this map.  It will help you along the way and give you direction".  Lisa, says "WHAT"?  Jim, where are you taking us?  The man replies, "oh mam, it is a beautiful place, one to remember, but the only problem is that you must travel by foot.  The road is rough and narrow, no car could make it, but I promise you, you will love it".  FINE, Lisa says, lets just go!  They get back in the car and find the road.  They pull over and get out… "Are y'all ready", Jim asks the family.  I guess, sighs the family… 

As they begin walking down the very narrow road, they encounter several people.  One of which, is a man appears to be struggling to walk.  Jim quickly asks the man, "Are you okay?"  The man replies yes.  Jim and Lisa can tell that the man is really hurting and is just to proud to ask for help.  So they, pick him up and began carrying him with them.  A little further down, they encounter a young woman and child.  The woman is carrying her child and appears to be very weak and hungry.  Lisa asks her, "would you like to join us? We can feed you and help you and your child regain your strength."  The woman quickly replies, "Yes".  Lisa asks her, "where are you going?"  The woman replies, "Hillside".  Lisa looks at Jim, what is this place called "Hillside" and why are all these hurting people trying to get there?  Jim says, I am not sure, all the brochure said was "a place to find rest".  

As they continued their journey, they see a beautiful ray of light coming from the distance.  That is coming from that hill over there daddy, is that Hillside?  Jim and Lisa look up at the hill and see that the ray of light is coming from one of 3 crosses on the hill.  Jim replies to his son, yes, yes I believe that it is… They and their new friends, walk up the hill… it is then that they realize they have for sure  found it…  The little boy asks, "who are you" to the man hanging on the cross.  He answers, I am Jesus!  Welcome Home!  You can lay your burdens down right at the foot of this cross.  And don't worry, I have paid for you all so it is all free.  Enjoy the blessing of what this place has to offer.  

You see, many of us get lost from time to time.  They road to the cross is a narrow one, and it requires us to get out of our comfort zone (the car in this case) to walk the narrow road that leads there.  But God (the man at the fruit stand) gives us the map (the Bible) to guide us and direct our paths. We will encounter people along the way that need our help, but in the end, we will find that the journey has been well worth it.  Jesus died on the cross, on a hillside called Calvary, to pay the price for all our sins.  And although He tells us that the road is narrow, He promises us that we will find rest and that He will allow us to lay down our burdens at the foot of the cross.  

Are you lost today?  Do you know someone who is?  I pray that if you are, that you will come find rest at the cross.  To find your rest simply pray the prayer below and begin your journey today!

"Father, I know that I have broken your laws and my sins have separated me from you. I am truly sorry, and now I want to turn away from my past sinful life toward you. Please forgive me, and help me avoid sinning again. I believe that your son, Jesus Christ died for my sins, was resurrected from the dead, is alive, and hears my prayer. I invite Jesus to become the Lord of my life, to rule and reign in my heart from this day forward. Please send your Holy Spirit to help me obey You, and to do Your will for the rest of my life. In Jesus' name I pray, Amen."

That if you confess with your mouth, "Jesus is Lord," and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. ~ Romans 10:9-10 (New International Version)


About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

