My Walk with Jesus Vol. 18 “You are just like your Father”


26 Then God said, “Let Us
make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have
dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over
the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” 27 So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. 28
Then God blessed them, and God said to them, “Be fruitful and multiply;
fill the earth and subdue it; have dominion over the fish of the sea,
over the birds of the air, and over every living thing that moves on
the earth.” – Genesis 1:26-28

Have you ever been doing something around your family and heard someone say, "you look just like your father/mother when you do that"?  I have and in fact, I say that sometimes about my own kids.  My wife and I joke often about that with each other, mostly it is when the kids are acting up.  The fact is this, our kids act like us and do things that we do because they first of all have our DNA and second, they see us do something like it.  Our examples and models in life are often formed at a very early age and most of that comes from watching and hearing what our parents say and do.  Well for me, this was mind blowing and very humbling when I thought
about this earlier today.  My son (almost 8 months) climbed into his
sisters toy box, and the first thing that came out of my mouth was, he
is just like me. Not that was a bad thing, but my thoughts immediately went to this very simply question:

Does your heaven Father say that about you now?  If He was to be in a room with some of His closest friends, and saw you doing something, would they say to Him, "wow… he looks just like you"?   Or maybe, He would say to them, "that's my son"?  Tough question, at least it was for me. 

We are made in the image of God as you see in verse, 26 Then God said, “Let Us
make man in Our image, according to Our likeness.
If that is the case, why don't we act like it?  I know for some of you, you try do everything opposite of your parents, simply because you saw what they did and you don't want to be anything like them.  We are made in the image of God for one simple reason and that is to bring Him Glory in all we do.  He even sent His Son Jesus to walk among us, to show us in the flesh how it was to be done.  He has written down in our instruction booklet (The Bible) on how we are to act, how we are to treat others, how we are to raise our kids, and how we as kids are to treat our parents (these are just a few examples).  How much simpler can "Love thy neighbor as yourself" be?  Do we not understand that our neighbor is anyone we come in contact with?  Don't worry, as I write this, my toes are hurting too.  The answer is really even more simple than the question, it is our choice.  We have all the answers at our finger tips, almost like an open book test, but we refuse to look and see.  We refuse to make the choices that will make us all, just a little bit better then what we are.  I wonder what God is saying or better yet, what other people are
saying about me?  Do they see my Father in me?  How about you?  Do we as Christians reflect what our Father has shown us?  So I challenge you, as I challenge myself, to ask, what do others see in me?  Is it a direct reflection of our Father? Or is it a reflection of something or someone else?  Make a choice to simply start with this, Love your neighbor as yourself, and see what happens.

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

