My Walk with Jesus Vol.17 “Off the Bench & In the Game”


22But be doers of the word, and not
hearers only, deceiving yourselves. 23For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a
doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a
mirror. ~ James 1:22-23

16Now the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the
mountain to which Jesus had directed them. 17And when they saw him they  worshiped him, but some
doubted. 18And Jesus came
and said to them,  "All authority in heaven and on earth has
been given to me.
19Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the
Son and of the Holy Spirit,
20teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And
behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age."  ~ Matthew 28:16-20

I have been, what I call a wishy-washy christian, for far to long.  I have let circumstances and people determine what I should and shouldn't do, instead of trusting in what God is telling me.  There have been times where I have known exactly what God is telling me to do, and because I didn't fully trust, I ran out of fear.  When I did that, I found myself miles away from the will of God.  You know the movie "Forest Gump", the scene when he is playing football for Alabama.  He gets the kick off, he runs it all the way back for a touchdown and keeps running right through the tunnel.  That reminds me of my life, however, when I have gotten the ball in my hand, I run alright, but I look more like the back up quarterback from the movie "Necessary Roughness, running around in circles, scared to death, yelling "Blow the whistle".  My point is this, and like James is saying in verse 22, if we hear the word and know the word, why aren't we living the word? 

Here is an example, let's say you tried out for the football team.  You make the team, you study the plays inside and out, you go to practice, but when the game day comes around, you are sitting in the stands watching from the 5th row.  Much is like my walk thus far, I made the team (became a Christian), I have studied the playbook (the Bible), I have gone to practice (church), but I have been sitting in the stands, 5th row, Section A, seat 1, watching the game (the Great Commission).  I have been a Monday Morning Quarterback for far to long.  It is time for us all to get in the game.  For some of you, you are the Star Player who nobody knows, because you are to afraid to get in the game.  Like me, afraid of what others might think, afraid of failure, afraid of winning…. Why?  Well my friends, luckily for us, this is not a Select League, where only the best get to play.  We all are called to play… 

Notice in the verse above from Matthew, Jesus is not telling just some of us to go.  He doesn't say, "Now only the ones with a degree or biblical college degree go".  He says now Go!  All of us!  If you are like me, you like to complain about the world and how there is evil all around us and how we wish someone would do something to stop it… yeah… it starts with the man in the mirror.  We must start being bold about sharing our stories of how Christ saved us and letting our light shine for the one who boar our sins on the cross.  Don't wait, thinking this game is going to overtime… cause my dear friend it is not!  The Word of God warns us that the time is near… for none of us know what tomorrow holds or if there will be a tomorrow.  I challenge you, as I challenge myself, to start now!  Get off the Bench & in the Game!  Because I promise you at the end of the game, your coach (God) will say ~ 23
'Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few
things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your
master's happiness!' ~ Matthew 25:23

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

