My Walk with Jesus Vol. 15 “Out of the Boat… On to the Water”


Immediately Jesus made
the disciples get into the boat and go on ahead of him to the other
side, while he dismissed the crowd. After he had dismissed them, he went up on a
mountainside by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone, but the boat was already a
considerable distance from land, buffeted by the waves
because the wind was against it.

During the fourth watch of the night Jesus
went out to them, walking on the lake. When the disciples saw him walking on the
lake, they were terrified. "It's a ghost," they said, and cried out in
fear. But Jesus
immediately said to them: "Take courage! It is I. Don't be afraid." "Lord, if it's you," Peter
replied, "tell me to come to you on the water." "Come," he said. Then
Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came toward
Jesus. But when he saw
the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, "Lord, save
me!" Immediately
Jesus reached out his hand and caught him. "You of little faith," he
said, "why did you doubt?" And when they climbed into the boat, the wind
died down. Then those
who were in the boat worshiped him, saying, "Truly you are the Son of
God."  ~ Matthew 14:22-33

Two parts to this today, first Peter… 

For who among us is not Peter?  We hear the calling, we see the signs, but yet we refuse to believe.  Are you stuck in the boat because of your fear?  I am.. just being honest.  After all, I have a family to support, bills to pay, my work depends on me… excuse after excuse.  Spiritual fear is paralyzing.  It binds us and holds us captive.  The fear of casting EVERYTHING over to God is well… scary. 

I know in my heart what His word says, I know in my mind that He will provide.  So why the fear?  It is quite simply.  We like to have control.  So we blow it off saying, well that probably wasn't God, it was just a thought, or maybe it was just something I ate.  To give up complete control of everything you own, pay for, desire… what is that?  It is called FAITH.  After all, we don't own anything.  Everything we have is because God has chosen to bless us with it.  We just like them so much that we are willing to go to a job we hate and work 60 hours a week, just to keep them in our possession.  And then we ask, God please tell me your Will for my life.  Do you see a problem here?  When God calls us, it is not always to go to the mission field, or to become a pastor… But maybe it is?  God has a unique plan for all of us, and we should obey Him when He calls us out of the boat and on to the water, because if we don't, we are missing out on His unique blessing for our lives.  Faith is more than words or prayers, it is an action.  For what is faith without works.

Here comes the second part…

In the scripture below, Jesus tells the disciples to go… Just like when He called Matthew to follow Him… drop it all and go.  And what cost?  At every cost!  Wherever He leads, I will follow.  What if it cost you your job?  What if it cost you your house?  What about your own family?  Are you willing to follow Him if He calls?  He states below, I "Do not suppose that I have
come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a
sword. "
For I have come
to turn
'a man against his father, a daughter against
her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law, a man's
enemies will be the
members of his own household.' "Anyone who loves his father or mother
more
than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more
than me is not worthy of me; and
anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.
Whoever finds his life will
lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it." 
Wow… Are we willing to do this,  or do we love the things of this world or the people around us so much that we are willing to say no.  This stepped all over me and my toes… I think this has a great deal to do with our country today and the state we are in.  Because I have a feeling that I am not the only one who has been to scared to leave my boat.  My boat is safe, my boat is warm and cozy. But does my boat have what I really need?  Does it add to my treasures in Heaven. 

My challenge to you and myself, is that we would be willing to step out on the water the next time we are called, in whatever it maybe, big or little.  That we would have the faith to face our fears and trust in the one we call our Savior.  He did not just die for our sins, He died for all mankind.  And He has left it up to us to be willing to share the gift with those around us, even if it does cost us.  Sometimes it might be your next door neighbor, or sometimes around the world, but we must be willing to go.  For just like with Peter, He will be right there with you and if your faith becomes weak, His hand is there to catch you.  So take that step of faith… Get out of the Boat and Get on the Water!

He called his twelve
disciples to him and gave them authority to drive out evil spirits and to heal every disease
and sickness. These
are the names of the twelve apostles: first, Simon (who is called Peter)
and his brother Andrew; James son of Zebedee, and his brother John; Philip and Bartholomew;
Thomas and Matthew the tax collector; James son of Alphaeus, and
Thaddaeus; Simon the
Zealot and Judas Iscariot, who betrayed him.

These twelve Jesus sent out
with the following instructions: "Do not go among the Gentiles or enter
any town of the Samaritans. Go
rather to the lost sheep of Israel. As you go, preach this message: 'The kingdom of
heaven is near.'  Heal
the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy, drive out demons. Freely you have
received, freely give.  Do
not take along any gold or silver or copper in your belts; take no bag for the journey,
or extra tunic, or sandals or a staff; for the worker is worth his keep.

"Whatever town
or village you enter, search for some worthy person there and stay at
his house until you leave. As
you enter the home, give it your greeting. If the home is deserving, let your peace rest
on it; if it is not, let your peace return to you. If anyone will not welcome you or listen to
your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or
town. I tell you the
truth, it will be more bearable for Sodom and Gomorrah on the day of
judgment than for that town. I
am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as
snakes and as innocent as doves.

"Be on your guard against men; they will hand
you over to the local councils and flog you in their synagogues. On my account you will be
brought before governors and kings as witnesses to them and to the
Gentiles. But when they
arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that
time you will be given what to say, for it will not be you speaking, but the
Spirit of your Father speaking through you. "Brother will betray brother
to death, and a father his child; children will rebel against their
parents and have them put to death.  All men will hate you because of me, but he
who stands firm to the end will be saved. When you are persecuted in one place, flee to
another. I tell you the truth, you will not finish going through the
cities of Israel before the Son of Man comes.

"A student is not above his
teacher, nor a servant above his master. It is enough for the student to be like his
teacher, and the servant like his master. If the head of the house has
been called Beelzebub, how much more the members of his
household!

"So
do not be afraid of them. There is nothing concealed that will not be
disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. What I tell you in the dark, speak in the
daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs. Do not be afraid of those who
kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One
who can destroy both soul and body in hell. Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to
the ground apart from the will of your Father. And even the very hairs of your head are all
numbered. So don't be
afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

"Whoever acknowledges me
before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven. But whoever disowns me
before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven.

"Do not suppose that I have
come to bring peace to the earth. I did not come to bring peace, but a
sword. "
For I have come
to turn
'a man against his father, a daughter against
her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law, a man's enemies will be the
members of his own household.' "Anyone who loves his father or mother more
than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more
than me is not worthy of me; and
anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will
lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.

"He who receives you
receives me, and he who receives me receives the one who sent me. Anyone who receives a prophet
because he is a prophet will receive a prophet's reward, and anyone who
receives a righteous man because he is a righteous man will receive a
righteous man's reward. And
if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones
because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not
lose his reward." ~ Matthew 10:1-42

About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

