My Walk with Jesus Vol. 4 “Safe in His Arms”


We are Safe in His Arms….

This experience is strange and some might even discount it as false, but for me… It was very real!

As some of you might know, my daughter has had a terrible time with what are called "Night Terrors".  And they are just that, for both the parent and the child.  As a parent it is the most hopeless feeling in the world to watch your child suffer with terror, as you try to weak them up, just to let them know it is okay.  For those of you who are not familiar with what night terrors are, they are realistic, horrifying dreams.  The person having them is asleep, although they appear to be awake.  The person having them, can cause harm to themselves, as well as, the other around them without even realizing what they are doing.  With all that being said, this is my story of how we truly are "Safe in His Arms".

This all began about a year ago.  When these first started, she would wake up screaming uncontrollably.  We ask her doctor about it and he said it was "Night Terrors" and that she would just have to grow out of it.  As time went on, they starting becoming worse and worse.  We tried everything, changing her diet, change the medicine she was taking, changing her nap schedule… I mean we tried it all.  Nothing worked.

Well about a month ago, she began trying to hurt herself and us during these night terrors.  She would try to pull out her hair, and she went as far as hitting us (hard) and trying to scratch our eyes.  I jokingly said to my wife, "it is almost like she is someone else".  Well, about a week later, I was walking out the front door and there was a little old lady walking on the other side of the street and she said, "you have a beautiful home".  I said, "thank you, that is very kind."  She said "I have had many dinners in that home, I was friends with the people who lived there before you.  They moved after their son died." 

Not thanking anything about that at the time, I later began to reflect on this situation.  I quickly discounted it, saying, that only happens in the movies.  Well that very weekend, Karlee had her worst episodes.  She became very violent, and at one point standing in her room trying to calm her down, it was almost like something was watching me (if you have ever had that feeling, like you are not alone, you know what I mean).  I quickly began to pray, asking for God's protection over her.  Well the next night was the same thing, only stranger.  I began singing to her to calm her down, I started singing "Jesus loves me" and boy, it hit the fan… She began attacking me more than ever… I said maybe she doesn't like that song lol.  So I began singing "Twinkle, Twinkle little star", and she stopped.  I said, that is strange, so I started singing "Jesus Loves Me" again, and again she went crazy, hitting me, scratching at my eyes, pulling her hair.  So again, I changed the song, and again, she stopped.  When I say stopped, I mean stopped hitting and stuff, she still was crying uncontrollably.  After a few times of this, I started becoming a little concerned, so I turned on the light to see her face when I changed songs.  So with the light on, I began to sing "Amazing Grace", she went crazy, and her eyes, well lets just say, it scared the crap out of me.  I did all I knew to do, I held her out so I could see her face and said, "whoever is in my daughter, be gone in the name of Jesus Christ my Lord and Savior".  She laid her head down on my shoulder and went to sleep and has not had one since.  WoW! 

This story is not made up, and it was very real.  There is truly POWER in the name of Jesus!  And it goes to show you, that we are "Safe in His Arms"!  I share this not for the WOW factor, and not for attention for me, nor my daughter, but simply to share the message of Jesus Christ and that no matter what you are going through, that He is always there, willing and waiting for you to trust in Him and Him alone.  I had no other choice that night but to call out to Jesus, because that is all I knew to do.  But it is just that simple, Faith of a mustard seed, that moved that mountain, and it can move yours too! 

God Bless You and your journey and as usual, feel free to share.  Your comments are also welcome.


About Brad Clarke

The Christian journey takes us through many different areas in life. Our Walk with Jesus, is exactly that and is designed to encourage, inspire, and help any and all that read it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

